Energy From Thorium Discussion Forum

It is currently Sep 19, 2018 4:09 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Changing mindsets.
PostPosted: Feb 03, 2013 6:05 pm 

Quote:
That all may be true. I'm a graduate of the US Naval Nuclear Power School, so I know all about Adm. Rickover. However, I do not believe that the electric power utilities in the US, such as Exelon, Duke, Southern Company, are very interested in what the culture was in the 1950's or 1970's when they make business decisions concerning new power generation. Neither, I believe, are Westinghouse, General Electric and Areva. They will design and promote reactors they think will sell in today's market, and right now I don't see anyone seriously considering thorium.

You have done a fine job extolling the virtues of thorium, but there must be considerable drawbacks you're not discussing, or the management and boards of all those companies I mentioned are indeed idiots. I chose to believe they aren't.

I got this response to a thread on LFTRs I started, from another member of a science forum I'm part of and it raises several questions for me. First off how to you go about undoing years of myth that the thorium fuel cycle in MSRs must be unworkable because it was never really tried. The MSRE showed that the concept was viable, but further development was ended because people like Milton Shaw wanted to develop the LMFBR.

So how do you get around the, "It wasn't tried so it must not work" mentality that seems to exist with many present and former professionals in the nuclear sector. You can talk(or post) yourself blue, but it still seems to come back to this belief on the part of people who should know better?